A thousand splendid suns

“One could not count the moons that simmer on her roofs or the thousand splendid suns that hide behind her walls. ” – Saib-e-tabrizi

Khaled Hosseini is a beautiful, no, no words can explain how wonderful he is. His writings and the beauty of how he depicts every character of his books. The portrayal of two women who started different but ended the same due to their ill-fated timing and their status in the society for being women. I, as a women and the most important people in my life are women I read this book with all my heart and even stopped because I didn’t handle the impact of the words. I was even reading this gritting my teeth and mad because I find it hard that even as of today women are not given the rights and freedom in their country and even outside. I have met a friend younger than me when I was 12 or younger, a Pakistan girl with a strict rules in their family. We attended the same multicultural school, same elementary school and the same grade with my younger sister. Whenever we went to the pools or beach fieldtrips, her family never let her come because we had to wear bearing swimsuits and lengthy swimsuits were quite expensive. Time had passed and I went back to the Philippines and came back again to Korea to continue my High School studies. I saw her quite few times when going to school because unlike elementary years, we wore formal uniforms, short skirts. But she was easily noticeable because she wore a burqa on her head and a pair of pants instead of skirts.

India is not the only country that worships men and criticize women. I have watched different Chinese movies and dramas whos father tend to want men to accept the heritage and businesses of their family and is a disgrace if a women would take it. They view women as a weak, undeserving existence in the unending discrimination of the gender roles.

“The most beautiful people we have known are those who knows defeat, known suffering, known struggle, known loss, and have found their way out of the depths. These persons have an appreciation, a sensitivity, and an understanding of life that fills them with compassion , gentleness, and a deep loving concern. Beautiful people do not just happen.”  – Elizabeth Kubler-Ross

I view people equally and I believe that men also have equal rights to do what they want to do. We all have hardships in our lives and will do anything to overcome them. But preventing one person to do what she wants to do is a shame that you may have prevented one to proceed with her happiness and dreams. I salute every women, who stands as a mother, father, daughter a friend and a fighter to the people whom they care the most. Reading A thousand splendid suns has given me a great realization and aspiration. I recommend this book to everyone. This is worth the 13 hours.

Leave a Reply

