The Outsiders – S.E. Hinton

Rating :4/5

In 1996 Tulsa, teenagers come two ways. If you’re a ‘soc,’  (a.k.a socials) you’ve got money, cars, a future. But if you’re a ‘greaser,’ you’re an outsider with only your friend. At a young age Ponyboy’s parents died in an accident and all he have is his two brothers and the gang who are all greasers. They play and dream like any other boys but in a society where fingers are always pointed to them they resort to other ways only they can understand. 

From beginning to end I was mesmerized by this wonderful book. It was fast paced and I fell in love with the characters in every chapter of the book. The character that I liked the most was Ponyboy’s oldest brother Darrel. After the loss of their parents he as the oldest in the family chose to work full time in a construction site. He is an athlete at his school and was good at everything that he got a scholarship to go to college but declined because he had to take care of his remaining siblings. He is responsible and caring but didn’t quite knew how to show his feelings towards his brother. But he was just really worried about what would happen to his brothers after all, he too was only just a kid.

The relationship within the gang was emotional for me. Some people may find it unnecessary to throw punches or use knives to display a commitment to a friendship but I find it brave. A little childish but they are young and this was the only way they can do it. They support each other no matter what. It left me teary eyed until the end of the book.

Today I just listened to two of my friends sharing their problems at home. Divorce, money problems and a loss of a parent. I too shared mine while my heart broke hearing the stories of my friends. This is the first time in my entire life to share something about a piece of my life and hearing theirs. I believe by sharing our hardship would bring our friendship more stronger. I’m a little bit afraid of the exposure now that they know something about me and I feel a little vulnerable. But we all have our stories to tell may it be our friends, the internet, the world our families to feel a little bit of relief.

The author wrote this book based on true theme.The book was inspired by two rival gangs at her school, the Greasers and the socs and her desire to show sympathy toward the Greasers by writing from their point of view. I little bit saddened to know that she decided to keep her name in initials because she was afraid that no girl can write a story about gangs at that time but I’m glad the book was successful to show that no gender can decide what you can and can’t do.

A must-read book. I believe this book is part of the curriculum in school so don’t hesitate to read it and just enjoy it!

One thought on “The Outsiders – S.E. Hinton

Leave a Reply

