And the Mountains Echoed – Khaled Hosseini

Rating : 3.5/5

From the author of Kite Runner and A Thousand Splendid Suns, Khaled Hosseini comes back with a novel of love, acceptance and destiny. The novel goes around the story of a brother and a sister, their family and caretakers, the people they got to live with in the same ground but never met. They almost aren’t acquainted but an invisible string straps them into one place.

The story is narrated from different characters around the globe where they tell us their misfortunes, regrets and realizations through their course of life.

I had no doubt reading this book since its the work of Khaled Hosseini and I trusted him with my time. But page after page, chapter after chapter I was beginning to get this feeling if I did the right thing.

There were a lot of characters with great stories with them. I enjoyed every confessions and stories that they share. However I was always left with a lot of open doors that I can’t even peek into. The stories were cut short and no one knows what happens to the mentioned characters. Some characters I felt were even unnecessary to the flow of the plot.

And I was expecting a more dramatic kind of novel but it failed to give a really big (or any) impact while reading this book.

But Khaled has beautifully written the book, every word melts in my mind. It kept me reading this entire book. I love how he expresses a character’s emotion with amazing choice of words that you may think that he himself is in the moment.

I give this book a four star because it is still a good book to read and each stories of the characters were amazing despite its lack of further explanation.

Leave a Reply

